Donation Goal
Donate Now Goal amount for this year: 799 USD, Received: 100 USD (13%)
Please donate to help support this website. The funds will be used to purchase owned license of LiteSpeed Web Server Enterprise (2-CPU). It provides superior performance in terms of raw speed, scalability and anti-DDoS capabilities.

Citibank Phishing

Posted By Raymond In Category: Computer

Mar
4
2006

I’ve just got an email from Citibank and asking me to update my details.
Of course I never believed it because I never had a citibank account. Moreover, I always knew that banks wouldn’t email you to update your details and provide your password as well.

The email looks like legitimate email sent by Citibank and there’s a link for you to click so your browser will open up Citibank site which doesn’t belong to Citibank.
I clicked on the link and it brings me to the link below.


http://web.da-us.citibank.com.cgi-bin.citifi.portal.l.l.do.acountnline.com/
Citibank Phishing

If you take a closer look at the link, the domain for the long address above is acountnline.com.
I did a whois and found that the domain belongs to Jonathan Rickles with the email acountnline_com@fsmail.net.
Citibank Phishing Whois

Come on man… Citibank would never use a person’s name and also a free email account service to register a domain.
Anyway, I tried inserting bogus information and click on the “Sign On” button, and it brings me to ACCOUNTONLINE.COM!
It doesn’t make sense to update your information on acountnline.com and later brings you back to ACCOUNTONLINE.COM.
Take a closer look at both of the domains. The spelling is different.

I believe that the real citibank online banking site is ACCOUNTONLINE.COM. I did a whois on ACCOUNTONLINE.COM and the information looked legitimate.
So beware of emails that you get asking you to update your information. BANKS would NEVER do that.


Related posts:
  • Protecting yourself from phishing scam
  • Copyright © 2005-2012 - Raymond.CC Blog