During the time when this blog has been mistakenly labeled as a hack site by Chitika and Adsense, I did a search in Google seeing what sites are linking to this blog site. Interestingly I found out that from ThreatExpert that there are malwares that blocks raymond.cc using hosts file and redirects it to 127.0.0.1. Logically thinking, if a virus blocks raymond.cc, it only meant one thing which is the author of the malware doesn’t want the infected user to be able to visit raymond.cc, probably to get help in removing the malware. You can take a look at the ThreatExpert reports by doing a search in Google on www.raymond.cc site:threatexpert.com.
Another interesting thing I found out is there was a malware removing tool called Remove-it by PCButts1. Do note that this version of Remove-it is different from the RemoveIT by InCode Solutions. Remove-it claims to have 60000+ signatures to remove all variants of rogue scanners, desktop or homepage hijackers, trojans, codec’s, and related malware or spyware. It also has the ability to update your hosts file blocking many sites and one of the sites that are blocked is www.raymond.cc.
I got curious so I downloaded Remove-it and ran it on my test computer running Windows XP since it can only support Windows 2000 and XP. There is a part where it asks the user whether to allow Remove-it to modify the hosts file. Hitting Y key will instantly update the HOSTS file blocking 16,000+ websites including raymond.cc which PCButts1 label as Thieves and Trolls.

Initially I was offended but it only lasted for a few seconds. PCButts1 claims to be a Microsoft MVP with MCSE, MCSD, MCT, A+, Network+ certification and part of the antivirus and spyware community but with a TERRIBLE REPUTATION. I am not going to link to PCButts1 Remove-it tool but you can definitely find it by googling pcbutts1. The first link points to the official PCButts1 website but the rest seems to be links to article that is attacking PCButts1 such as pcbutts1 is a pirate/thief, pcbutts1 exposed not a microsoft MVP, taken to court and etc.
If you are using the paid version of MalwareBytes’ Anti-Malware, its malicious website blocking module blocks pcbutts1′s website and because of this, PCButts1 tried to fight back by adding malwarebytes into the block list. Obviously PCButts1 failed miserably simply because there are more Malwarebytes users than Remove-it.

Try checking PCButt1′s website with URLVoid and the result is DANGEROUS because 4 engines flagged it as detected. I am not worried about PCButts1 at all but just to warn my readers to beware of this person and avoid anything to do with PCButts1. If for some weird reason you cannot access raymond.cc but no problems on other websites, press WIN+R and type %windir%\system32\drivers\etc\HOSTS and open it with notepad. If you see raymond.cc in the list, you will have to remove it.
Related posts:
some days ago OA professional was blocking yours site from accessing in my computer , I had to manually add it to safe list
Some people eh?
Well done for the detective work raymond.
Those sad little losers just sound desperate hehe.
@hfng Comodo free firewall also has a Sandbox option in its latest version.
Thanks Ray,
I will be cautious.
Another good read ,as always.
Hey, thanks for your replies!! What a great community here :)
Raymond great work. They think they are smart did try to access that site. Via Ixquick, no can do. Also if your site was as bad as they said. The new Emsisoft Anti-Malware would have you blocked. And through Ixquick and Emsisoft your site can be accessed very easily. You do a great job of informing everyone of the treacherous deeds of a lot of these companies. And through MAM your site is not blocked. So keep up the good work.
PcButts i kick your butt….
Thanks Ray,
I will be cautious.
is there any reason what raymond.cc was blocked in the first place ? don’t get me wrong, i’m just curious on how they rate a site.
I’m going to share this. Another site to block.
Thanks,
lol..pcbutts1 butthurt…
more like they’re the trolls..spread the news about this butthurt software to others as well =)
Darn this PCButts1 person, what a troll.
Thanks Raymond!
PCButts1 sucks…
MalwareBytes AM Pro rocks by the way,an excellent secondary protection.
@hfng
Use virtualbox or Vmware or you could try apps. like sandboxie free,returnil home free for a contained directory.
PCButts: What a bunch of buttheads
ray u are really a genius man. u explained it well and u really conduct testing before sharing to us. thank you so much
Thanks 4 the info Ray…!!!
@hfng
Sandboxie is there for you- sandboxie.com/
Thank you Raymond,
PCbutts1 is engaged in rogue and malware distribution as well
hosts-file.net/?s=pcbutts1.com
even WOT rates it as RED
mywot.com/en/scorecard/pcbutts1.com
PCbut’s so pathetic
Envy is an ugly beast Ray, it is normal that things like this happens…
Thanks for the info, I’ll make sure I’ll never go to that website :D
Keep up the good work Ray, you’re the best!
Hugs from Italy
Andrea
@ #21,
Yes, it is called a sandbox. The most popular is called Sandboxie. Kaspersky Internet Security has a built in sandbox.
Hi Raymond, Is there a way to install unknown programs on your PC in a contained directory so that in case it is a virus, it won’t infect the entire system?
Thanks for your wonderful blog! Keep up the great work.
Thank you Raymond. This is why I/we subscribe, trustworthy information. I have had good success with “Malwarebytes”, any other opinions?
Hi there Raymond,
I think the more concerning thing is that this guy(s) at PCButts1 are not actually only trolling but acting against fair people and sites. We should spread the word by our own means on every site or community.
Count with us!
Try
Win+R
ipconfig /flushdns
Considering they’re stuffing domain names into a list which modifies a user’s hosts file with their product, I wonder if they could be bothered to look at the websites they actually blacklisted.
For the record, my IPCop + Advanced Proxy + URL Filter + updated blacklist, tagged and blocked pcbutts1. So they are in the current blacklists for some other reason then all the nonsense spewing in their forums.
Which brings me to the conclusion raymond.cc being added to his list as either Careless, or Malicious.
If careless, what does that say of his product?
If malicious, what does it say of his product?
I really don’t care one way or the other about anything, if it works to get the job done, I will use it, if it’s hand coded, free, GLP, CC or paid commercial solutions on linux, bsd, windows, or dos I’ll use and buy it,
“IF it works. ”
The only thing that rubs me, is raymond.cc isn’t a troll nor thief.
Spybot Search & Destroy handles the situation with more sensitivity:
# Start of entries inserted by Spybot – Search & Destroy
. . .
# End of entries inserted by Spybot – Search & Destroy
There’s a lesson here.
I have google blocked for some reason. So when i did the %windir%\system32\drivers\etc\HOSTS i deleted google from the list and saved the file in the etc folder. But i still cannot access google? Wonder why?
man, u really do a lot of research…thanks for flagging that up..tc n have a nice day!!!
wilson, it’s in Windows\System32\Drivers\etc\
thanks for the info mate, gotta be careful eh?
As always, very interesting information and prove one more time how malicious person exist over the net
I found it in linux alrdy. Is “gedit hosts”. Thanks. But for windows I dont know where is save.
May I know where is the location the host file save in windows and linux?
For ubuntu version 10.04. I use “gedit host” inside the /etc . But inside is empty.
Always a pleasure to read an article from you Raymond.
lol pcbutts should block them selves
I like this block more than any blog, So if this going to happen, I block PCButts site through HOST and feel secure and safe. Raymond Rocks…….
thanks for sharing.
Thanks for letting me know abt pcbutts1.I ll take care in future interesting read.
Looks more like PCbutts1 is trolling…lol
Wow, that is sad and also childish.
However, many times, small program communities do block well known sites with the intention of them having that site do and blog post about. When the owner looks at what has blocked them, blogs about it and asks them to remove it, they will write an apologetic email back saying it was an accident.
A few weeks later or few months down the road, they make something great, they will write to those that wrote about them in a blog and offer them a free copy to evaluate and potentially be written by the blog owner. Doing this is a double-edge sword, due to the fact that they have tarnished their reputation quite early in the game and the owners of the blog/website might not bother to take a look at their newly product any time soon, no mater how good it is.
Thanks, though, for information about them so that I won’t waste my time on their product.
This is really an alarm situation. Such sites should be avoided and blocked by all the reputed anti virus programs.
Kudos to you Raymond
Thanks Raymond for the information about PCButts1, we will be carefull.